A little Steinbeck with lunch

Fans © Natalia Martinez

I work as  tutor once a week, and my tutee and I are reading “Of Mice and Men” together which, I am embarrassed to admit, I’d never read. However, reading a bit about Steinbeck to re-familiarize myself since reading (and loving) “Grapes of Wrath” so many years ago, I came across this quote – Try to understand men, if you understand each other you will be kind to each other. Knowing a man well never leads to hate and nearly always leads to love.” Steinbeck greatness is not in his Nobel Prize or in his best-selling books; it’s the empathy he had for his fellow man and the lens this lent for the capturing of the struggles, the loneliness, and frustrations of a difficult time in history. A good lesson for all of us these days.

3 responses to “A little Steinbeck with lunch

  1. You misquoted, apparently. The last word is “love” not “law!” 🙂 But my mind read it (the first time) the way Steinbeck said it, not the way you quoted it. That must say something about something, but I’m not sure what! 😉

    – NonE

  2. By the way, speaking of your trying to prevent a “quarter life crisis,” I had my midlife crisis at 26. At the time I realized that 26 was VERY young and that I was really just getting started in life, but I also took not that it was exactly one half of my father’s life – he had died of cancer at 52 – and so I had a profound change in perspective. I knew from then on that the only thing I had in life was time, and that not any of that time belonged to anyone but me, and that I had best not squander even one precious moment of that time. I’ve done pretty well at my task since then. I don’t allow fools to steal the only thing of value that I own.

    – NonE

  3. Thanks so much for the correction and your thoughts! The law/love faux pas absolutely slipped my radar!

Leave a Reply

